Prize-winners round up

Prize-winners round up

Here’s a wee round up of prizes won by some of our 2009 Book Festival authors since the festival took place last August. Haven’t they done well?

January 2010

Adam Foulds
Southbank Show Awards literature prize for The Quickening Maze


Colm Toibin
Costa Novel Award for Brooklyn?

Patrick Ness
Costa Children's Award for The Ask and the Answer

December 2009?

Petina Gappah
Guardian First Book Award for An Elegy for Easterly

November 2009

Robert Crawford
Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year Award for The Bard

Eleanor Thom
Saltire Society Scottish First Book of the Year for The Tin Kin

Neil Gaiman
Booktrust Teenage Prize for The Graveyard Book

Sam Lloyd
Roald Dahl Funny Prize (age 6 and under) for Mr Pusskins Best in Show

Philip Ardagh
Roald Dahl Funny Prize (age 7 – 14) for Grubtown Tales: Stinking Rich and Just Plain Stinky

October 2009

Hilary Mantel
Man Booker Prize for Fiction for Wolf Hall

Don Paterson
Forward Poetry Prize for best collection for Rain

Robin Robertson
Forward Poetry Prize for best single poem for At Roane Head

Emma Jones
Forward Poetry Prize for best first collection for The Striped World

The 2010 Book Festival programme will be available from June. Until then we can’t divulge its contents, but what we can say with true conviction is that it will be full of future prize winners...

More articles