Shortlist for Edwin Morgan Poetry Prize announced today

Shortlist for Edwin Morgan Poetry Prize announced today

The winner of the Edwin Morgan Poetry Prize will be announced at an event at Edinburgh International Book Festival in August

Today, the University of Strathclyde revealed the five poems which have been shortlisted for the 2012 Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition, one of the UK’s most prestigious poetry prizes.

The competition, now in its fifth year, is held in honour of Edwin Morgan, Scotland’s Makar (national poet), who died in 2010 aged 90.

The entries will be judged by two award-winning Scottish poets, Don Paterson and Gillian Ferguson and the winner announced at an event at the Book Festival on Saturday 18 August at 7.00pm.

Tickets for the event are still available for the event and you can buy them here.

The five short-listed poems are:

by Daisy Behagg

The Kids
by Jen Hadfield

Forest Glass
by Katherine Sowerby

Look Hamewards, Now
by Mike Vallely

The Perils of Surgery
by Malcolm Watson

All five poems can be read in full on the
Edwin Morgan Poetry Competition website

More articles